District‎ > ‎District News‎ > ‎

Miller a Pro Football Hall of Fame/U.S. Army Excellence finalist!

posted Mar 22, 2017, 9:04 AM by Cabool R-IV Schools
The Pro Football Hall of Fame and the U.S. Army announced the 25-high school, student-athlete finalists for the U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence, which includes Cabool High School senior Logan Miller. The program, now in its fifth year, highlights the achievements of student-athletes across the country.

The Award for Excellence program is open to all sophomore, junior and senior level high school student-athletes in the United States. The honor focuses on great athletic achievement, excellence in academics and community engagement.

“The Pro Football Hall of Fame is proud to partner with the U.S. Army to pay tribute to the fine young men and women who will shape the future of our country. Congratulations to the 25 finalists in 2017 who exemplify the Hall’s core values of commitment, integrity, courage, respect and excellence,” commented Pro Football Hall of Fame chief operating officer and executive producer George Veras.

“These students embody the excellence and dedication that both Army soldiers and Pro Football Hall of Famers bring to their own lives every day. They give their best to achieve their goals and give back to their communities. The Army is proud to be honoring this group as the 2017 Award for Excellence finalists,” said Mark Davis, deputy assistant secretary of the Army (marketing).

The 25 finalists for the Award for Excellence will be recognized during formal ceremonies at their respective high schools this spring. Miller will be honored at a school assembly on Monday, March 27, at CHS, where he will receive a finalist plaque from a Pro Football Hall of Famer. Also to be recognized is the teacher Miller named as having been influential in his academic career.

Other finalists for the Award for Excellence are Sean Cullen, White Lake, Michigan; Tyler Kroenke, Lincoln, Missouri; Connor Spunaugle, Lincoln, Missouri; Emily Fischer, Herculaneum, Missouri; Ashley Ho, Piqua, Ohio; Jared Van Vleet, Stillman, Illinois; Miranda Julian, Iron Mountain, Michigan; Makenzie Funk, Mead, Washington; Seth Polfus, Powers, Michigan; Ryan Poggenpohl, Raymond, Illinois; Kaitlyn Hicks, Kingford, Michigan; Andrew Cherry, Dickson County, Tennessee; Ryan Crowley, Bakerfield, California; Larsen Hodges, Portland, Oregon; Elisabeth Felix, New York; Emily Scott, Elizabeth, North Carolina; Nick Templeton, Festus, Missouri; Emily Annesser, Ottawa, Ohio; Jay Kaufman, Ottawa, Ohio; Hannah Kerns, Pinckney, Michigan; David Johnson, Prince Frederick, Maryland; Morgan Oldfield, Dansville, New York; Morgan Novikoff, Dix Hills, New York; and Andrew Santiago, Bolingbrook, Illinois.

Each U.S. Army-Pro Football Hall of Fame Award for Excellence finalist will be honored in Canton, Ohio, during the 2017 Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls in August. The finalists will be hosted at a special luncheon on Saturday, August 5, at the Hall during which the winner will be announced.

News Article By: The Cabool Enterprise