District‎ > ‎District News‎ > ‎

Vandiver's essay earns her trip to nations's capital!

posted Apr 15, 2016, 1:50 PM by Cabool R-IV Schools
High school juniors from across Intercounty Electric’s service territory gathered in the auditorium at the cooperative’s Licking office on Saturday, April 2, to compete for an all-expense paid trip to Washington, D.C.

Each participating school submitted their top three essay winners to compete; one student from each school wins the trip to Washington, D.C and the two runners-up receive an all-expenses paid trip to a leadership conference in Jefferson City. One by one, each student was interviewed on topics relating to rural electric cooperatives and Intercounty. The competition was intense as each school was represented by highly motivated and intelligent students. “A congratulations is due to all of these juniors as they should truly be proud of their accomplishments as tomorrow’s leaders,” an Intercounty spokesperson said.

The first place winners to the Washington, D.C. trip this coming June are Makayla Vandiver, Cabool; Gabe Crossgrove, Licking; Elizabeth Scott, Houston; Hannah Breedlove, Plato; Carson Mowery, Salem; Sam Wilsdorf, Rolla; Eden Williams, Summersville; Avery Lee, Mtn. Grove; and Rebecca Pirtle, St. James.

The runners-up winning for the Jefferson City trip are Joy Grover and Trenton Wilson, Licking; Emily Shea and Jazelle Brannan, Houston; Jenni Wingo and Devin Atterberry, Plato; Brooke Shults, Salem; Celia Parsons and Morgan Phenix, Rolla; Amy Gimpel and Lindsay Huffman, Summersville; Patrick Brown and Laney Alsup, Mtn. Grove; and Joshua Burns and Dawson Lynch, St. James.
Makayla Vandiver

News Article By: The Cabool Enterprise